Interesting School Events at Lancers, One of the Top Schools in Gurgaon

Reflections from students at Lancers, one of the best schools in Gurgaon:

“Creativity, Activity, and Service (commonly known as CAS) is one of the three components that every DP student is required to complete. It was introduced to me when I entered Grade 11.

At first, it seemed like a huge burden, as we had to engage in all three strands on a weekly basis, and write lengthy reflections about them. However, as time passed, I got used to the work and understood the hidden reason behind CAS.

As a member of the student council, I initiated, planned and executed major school events. Some of them included the Christmas Carnival, Halloween and Teachers Day. Working on this wide range of events, I learned varied skills, including event management, people management, problem-solving, coordination, and leadership.

Moreover, as part of the Activity strand of CAS, I participated in various sports competitions that took place. These included inter-school tournaments in football, basketball, and swimming. When I engaged in these sports activities, I not only was working on improving my fitness but in a way, I was disciplining myself, which will definitely help me in all aspects of life.

Service, in my opinion, is a part of CAS that teaches you the most in ways that you never imagined. When I visited the old age home or even when I taught underprivileged kids in the DLF Shiksha School, I realized that I am very lucky to be born in a family where I have everything that I need and want. I began appreciating the little things in life that I would usually just ignore or take for granted.

Throughout the course of my IB years, my main goal has always been to make myself as open-minded as possible and widen my scope of knowledge. CAS enabled me to enhance my personality by learning through experience. More importantly, my relations with other members in my class also strengthened through collaborations. And finally, there was a sense of enjoyment in this entire process,” shares a student from Lancers, one of the top schools in Gurgaon.

Schools in Gurgaon
Schools in Gurgaon

The DP Experience – An Interview By A Student At Lancers, One Of The Top Schools In Gurgaon

“If you are a DP student at Lancers, there are a few things that will haunt you: Internal assessments, Extended essays and maybe even Theory of knowledge!

So, I decided to find out for myself what the DP students were doing at this time of the year. But I could not find any since almost all were on study leave. All, except one: Jahnvi Nagpal.

I asked her if she could spare some of her precious time to talk to me about her 12th Grade journey. I began by asking her about her most memorable moments at Lancers International School. She smiled and said with a faraway look in her eyes:

‘This was the most important year of school for all us in the 12th Grade, so we had to give our full dedication towards the work, while at the same time spending quality time with friends. So much depended on what we did this year.’

Jahni Nagpal has been studying at Lancers ever since Grade 11. She says IB has mostly affected her in a positive manner. Slowly, day by day, she has realized that throughout her IB journey she has developed many qualities; such as, learning and attempting to reach all the IB Learner Profile attributes. She says she has become a better student, but more than that she has learned to deal with issues that she faces outside the school, as well.

The IB helps with the quality and the efficiency of the work, which she believes has improved exponentially, ever since Grade 11. She also adds that Grade 12 is not an easy stage; she considers it a difficult journey for her, as there has been a ton of work for the 12th graders to complete.

In her opinion, it is almost like being in university. I also asked Jahnvi all about the Extended Essay. For those who don’t know, an Extended Essay is a research paper of up to 4,000 words, giving students an opportunity to conduct independent research or investigation on a topic that interests them. Like the Theory of Knowledge (TOK) essay, TOK presentation, and participation in CAS (Creativity, Action, and Service), submitting an extended essay is a prerequisite for the IBDP Diploma award.

Jahnvi, as we know, is a hardworking and sharp-witted 12th Grade student whose advice one should listen to carefully. Here is her advice to juniors:

  • Learn from your mistakes and always give your hundred percent.
  • Stay on top of your game and always be prepared for your lessons.
  • Once a topic is finished in class, go home and revise all the content at home, every day.
  • Submit your work on time. There is no room for procrastination, a dangerous habit that creeps up on you,” shares a student from Lancers, one of the best schools in Gurgaon.

The Caucasian Circle By Lancers, One Of The Top Schools In Gurgaon

Schools in Gurgaon

Lancers International School, one of the best schools in Gurgaon, proudly presented an adaptation of Bertolt Brekht’s play: The Caucasian Chalk Circle.

Set in Georgia, the play follows the trials and tribulations of a young peasant woman, Grusha, who faces innumerable obstacles to bring up Michael, the infant son of the Governor and his wife who abandoned him during a coup.

The play is a metaphor for motherhood and conveys the idea that a mother’s love is not always tied to the bonds of blood between a child and its biological mother.

The play explores the concept that even a surrogate mother, like Grusha, can be the epitome of motherhood. Directed by drama teacher, Bandana Rawat, the play was presented in the form of a musical, with stunning backdrops of castles, barns, hills and river banks.

A cast of fifty middle school students, from grades 6 to 10, brought the stage to life with music, song, and dance. The chief protagonist Grusha’s role was presented by several seventh-grade students, each of whom did a splendid performance of portraying the suffering and perseverance of the young mother.

At the end of the play, in the climactic court scene, a judge placed the child in a chalk circle, flanked on one side by his biological mother and Grusha, on the other. The audience fell silent in the closing act as Grusha finally emerged as Michael’s true caregiver. The final scene, executed brilliantly by the students, was testimony, not just to their talent, but months of hard work.

Leave a comment