Remembering The Good Times At Lancers, One Of The Best Schools In Gurgaon

On the 23rd of May, MYP students from Lancers, one of the top schools in Gurgaon, attended an assembly in the auditorium to commemorate the struggles and successes of our school’s first batch of MYP Grade 10 students. These young men and women have worked hard and are now the first batch of students from Lancers to receive their official MYP certificates from IB.

The assembly started off with an inspirational speech by Ms. Prabhu, followed by a short film in which teachers wished the students of 10th grade all the best for the future. Then a few of the tenth-grade students came on stage to tell us about their experiences in MYP. It was truly inspirational and wonderful seeing our school’s tenth graders being the first ones from the newly MYP authorized Lancers, to move on to the Diploma Program.

On behalf of Lancers, one of the top schools in Gurgaon, we all wish the tenth graders the best and hope they reach the level of success that they desire.

Remembering 5th Grade By Lancers, One Of The Top Schools In Gurgaon

Schools in Gurgaon
Schools in Gurgaon

Shares a student from Lancers, one of the top schools in Gurgaon, “Throughout my six years at Lancers International School, I have seen this school change. It has come a long way. Back when I joined, the current sports arena in the basement was a parking lot for the school buses.

The cafeteria looked less busy during peak lunch hours, and the entire school ate lunch together; something unimaginable today. What’s more, there was a limited variety of dishes. Yet, we were allowed to buy carbonated fruit drinks which were not available anywhere else. I miss that sometimes!

There were fewer students and teachers back then. The action was very limited, with the only available options being Soccer, Cricket, Skating, and Swimming. Able clubs focused on value education lessons, which we now cover in our zero periods.

We had quite a few field trips back then. In Grade 5, when we were covering a unit called “From Inedible to Incredible” which explored how food is processed, we visited the Parle Agro Foods Pvt. Ltd. manufacturing unit. It was a great time and included a lot of learning.

Back then, teachers would come to our homeroom and conduct lessons, and everyone treated their desks like their own territory. People would decorate their desks and would treat the bottom half as a place for storage, like a locker. There was no risk of anything being misplaced or stolen and we’d leave our stuff there for ages. It was really fun, never having to travel to a locker. In fact, we’d never have to move out of our homerooms.

There were no exams, and we got less homework, back in Grade 5. And every day, 4 pm felt like a mini-Friday. My best friends were Aaryan, Kanvar, and Dhiraj. We were together as a group in Primary School.

Honestly, I think Grade 5 was my best year at Lancers. There was something about that year, whether it was the academics or just the people I had around me, that made it my best year at Lancers International School, so far.”

Bollywood In The Neighborhood By Lancers, One Of The Top Schools In Gurgaon 

Schools in Gurgaon
Schools in Gurgaon

Shares a student from Lancers, one of the top schools in Gurgaon, “When you find out there is a movie being filmed next to your house, chances are you will be quite excited! You think about meeting the celebrities who will be on the sets next to your home.

What’s more, you will know about the movie before it’s even out. It all seems like it will be an exciting time.

Well, it isn’t that great, believe me! I speak from my own experience! What one begins to notice is that all kinds of vendors set up shop outside your home! A HUGE crowd gathers at any point in time! Worst of all, you are not allowed to exit your house.

The vendors manage to pass the guards by giving them a few free goods, then proceed to the large crowd to try to make some sales. If the vendors spot anyone with money, they proceed to surround them and pester them to buy something from their goods. Once, when I was on my way back from school, I stopped by a small shop, and when I left the vendor followed me halfway to my house, asking me to buy something from him.

Another problem is the enormous crowd. It is quite annoying to get out of my house, as there are people blocking the road. When the crowd spots a celebrity, they all begin to shout, which can get quite disturbing; the dogs also begin to bark, which makes it even worse! Once, I was riding on my wave board (a skateboard with two wheels) and it felt awkward as they all stared at me. When I reached home, I feared someone from the crowd would steal my skateboard or my bicycle.

Things become quite unbearable when they start to film the movie. They block the road and all entrances, which means you are not allowed to leave your home or be in the front yard, as you will be making noise. The people who operate the camera sometimes refuse to remove the tracks for a while, even though they have clearly finished filming. In my case, my family and I had to wait for a long time before we could drive on the road just outside our home!

Yet, even though there are all these negative points to a movie filming in your neighborhood, it can get quite exciting, provided that you get to meet one of the actors and converse with them for a few minutes!”

Lancers International School is a co-educational international boarding school for students from ages 16 months to 18 years. Lancers International School is one of the leading IB Schools in Gurgaon. Lancers is a Boarding/ Day Boarding School in Gurgaon. We offer the IB Programme and the IGCSE Programme. Being one of the top boarding schools in Gurgaon, we offer PYP in Primary School, MYP in Middle School, and DP in Senior School.

Leave a comment